The Pulitzer Prize is an award celebrating achievements in newspaper, magazine and online journalism, literature and musical composition within the United States.

Administered by Columbia University, it was established in 1917 courtesy of provisions in the will of Joseph Pulitzer, who made his fortune as a newspaper publisher.

Prizes are awarded yearly in twenty-one categories.

In twenty of the categories, each winner receives a certificate and a $15,000 cash award — up from $10,000 in 2017.